Who We Are

The SRC team is made up of University of Miami faculty, staff and students from a variety of disciplines, including science, communication, law, education and engineering. The core science is overseen by faculty, but PhD students provide the projects from which specific research and educational activities are based. UM undergraduates work on projects as part of their academic degree requirements or for volunteer internships. Student interns are the backbone of the program, playing a major role in helping carry out activities, training and leading high school student participants in the field, lab, and classrooms. In making waves, SRC is lucky to partner with exceptional scientists, policy makers, journalists and educators.

Faculty & Staff

    • Neil Hammerschlag, Ph.D.
      Director, Shark Research & Conservation Program; Research Associate Professor, Rosenstiel School and Abess Center for Ecosystem Science
    • Liza Merly, Ph.D. Lecturer
    • Thiago B.A. Couto, Ph.D., Postdoctoral Associate
    • Claire Waterhouse, Lab Manager

SRC Ph.D. Students

    • Laura McDonnell, Rosenstiel School and Abess Center for Ecosystem Science, Intern Coordinator
    • Chelsea Black – Rosenstiel School and Abess Center for Ecosystem Science, Satellite Tag Coordinator
    • Mitchell Rider – Rosenstiel School and Abess Center for Ecosystem Science, FACT/ACT/OTN coordinator

SRC Masters Students

    • Abby Tinari – Rosenstiel, MS Student
    • Alex Anstett – Rosenstiel, MS Student
    • Yakira Gerszberg – Rosenstiel, MS Student
    • Sophia Dal Porto – Rosenstiel, MS Student
    • Nola Schoder – Rosenstiel, MPS Student, Media Manager and Photographer
    • Claire Waterhouse – Rosenstiel, MPS Student, Data Manager, Social Media Manager and Outreach Coordinator

SRC Interns

    • Maxim Baron – UM undergraduate student
    • Vanessa Bente – UM undergraduate student
    • Megan Buras – UM undergraduate student
    • Francesca DiMisa – UM undergraduate student
    • Sander Elliot – UM undergraduate student, Gear Manager
    • Matthew Ellis-Ramirez – UM undergraduate student
    • Claire Fandal – UM undergraduate student
    • Max Graivier – UM undergraduate student, Photographer
    • Kelly McDermott – UM undergraduate student
    • Ryan McMullen – UM undergraduate student, Gear Assistant
    • Khrista Nicholas – UM undergraduate student
    • Katie Pavlik – UM undergraduate student
    • Chloe Ponte – UM undergraduate student
    • John Proefrock – UM undergraduate student
    • Katherine Wilson – UM undergraduate student